Food Truck Drama

31 Aug

What follows is part of a letter that we have written to our property management company in response to their new capricious policy regarding allowing food trucks to park on this property…

“I would like to express a more optimistic, pro-business perspective.  We started renting here in late 2003, and since then we have paid our rent faithfully, and even expanded at a time when the circle has lost many tenants.  I have never put much energy into complaining.  Instead I like focusing on opportunity, and well, the future.  I’m sure you would agree that this is what keeps the buildings here occupied in the first place.  Sky Park Circle was built with small business, start-ups and entrepreneurship in mind.  I think our business exemplifies this.  Apparently you have been getting complaints about the food trucks, and you have been forced into reacting to this in a way that is not in keeping with the intended spirit of the business park.  After looking over the leasing agreement, I’m also sure that there are plenty of rules and regulations that can stop food trucks from coming, end sidewalk luggage sales, prevent cultural events, stop barbershop cookouts, and end dance competitions.   But let’s face it, if we focused on just the rules, regulations and liabilities in life, there wouldn’t be much reason for any of us to even get out of bed.

When we rented our space almost 7 years ago, there was a food truck that showed up every day for the local employees (our building was fully leased then).  I don’t know if the previous truck had a gentleman’s agreement, or something contractual, and I don’t know if they left due to a complaint, or just a lack of business.  So, I didn’t think it would be a big deal with this new opportunity arose to bring food trucks back to Sky Park Circle.  The more positive business energy – bringing new customers to our area – the better, right?

But if the complaints are ruling the day right now, to that end, we want to do what we can to keep the positive without creating any trouble.  I think 2 days a week is more than reasonable, since 5 days a week was the norm when we rented, and since we’re old-timers now, more recent tenants should understand.  But that’s me trying to be reasonable.  If it’s “the squeaky wheel gets the grease”, then I guess I have to look at my stay here in the circle in a different light.

… And as far as complaints go, I have a whole bunch that I could start with, from the uneven concrete right out our front step (a woman tripped the other day), to the ceiling covering in the back of our unit that the roofing repair guys said they would fix last March.  I probably should have jumped on these items earlier, but like I said, I would like to focus on the positive, marketing, product development end.  But, if complaints are the way to be an entrepreneur, I will have to change my outlook.

I have let any truck that I am in contact with know about your concerns, but this is new territory for food trucks, landlords, etc.  And they are all independent businesses (potential future Koll renters) looking to make a buck in a world where that’s no small thing.   So, I don’t want to be anyone’s scapegoat on this.  When the old school truck used to show up, we just bought the food – it was just part of the culture here.

I hope positive energy can rule the day.  I would like to talk about rent reduction if entrepreneurship is no longer our common goal, and I would like to proceed with a positive eye toward the future.  As to the complainers that are out there, a lot more people enjoy the trucks, like our business, and just want to have a little more fun in these less than friendly economic times…”

We are waiting to hear their response.

3 Responses to “Food Truck Drama”

  1. michelle August 31, 2010 at 5:21 pm #

    Beautifully written!! I agree.. In the past the old catering truck would go unnoticed. I do not understand why a “gourmet” truck pose a problem.. the only difference between a catering truck and the Gourmet one is one is on twitter/facebook. In the defense of the Gourmet truck, they are invited guest(s) of yours, who are not bothering any neighbor with solicitiation, and the people who purchase from your store and the trucks are respectful and do not trespass on your neighbors. I hope Management finds a “win win” situation… especially for a long time tenant like you!

  2. blackmarketbakery August 31, 2010 at 5:48 pm #

    Just got a phone call from a customer who says that his pregnant wife almost fell down due to the uneven pavement in front of our suite. Trying to get the property management company to fix it asap.

  3. Robin September 1, 2010 at 2:55 am #

    Well said.

Leave a Reply

