Going Away and Coming Back

3 Aug

This past weekend, I trekked up to Sequoia National Park with husband, 2 kids and more extended family in tow.  I had never thought of myself as a camping-type person, so it was surprising to me what an enjoyable time we had.  Getting away from the day-to-day is something quite rare in the life of a small business owner.  The bakery is close to kindergarten-age (6 years old) and we leave it so rarely.  Luckily we had good babysitters in the current staff so I wasn’t too worried about the Saturday’s work load.   Meanwhile, our intrepid team of campers was paddling around Lake Hume, slipping and sliding on the rocky waterfalls, hiking up to a fire lookout point, frying up skirt steaks and flatbreads over an open campfire and generally having an amazing time.

The stillness of not having access to technology – phones, computers, TV’s – was so liberating.  It’s that scary feeling when you are left alone with your thoughts… you hope that there is something of value there besides all the static and noise that bombards you through any average day.  When we were still up in Sequoia, I told my husband that I already wanted to return – even though we hadn’t left yet.  I want that stillness again.

I don’t know if I’m a better person for having gone away, but I do know that I don’t have to have all that media intrusion to feel connected.  Just being among trees, looking at the sky, breathing uber-clean air helps me remember that we are all just little ants, hurtling through space on this rock we call Earth.

Now that I am back to work, back to media and twitter and blogs and facebook, I feel that my head is muddy.  Once I start on one project, three more start nagging at me.  It’s like being spun around & around blindfolded before trying to play Pin the Tail on the Donkey.  The question is how to retain that quiet focus – that calmness – that I felt this past weekend.  I guess remembering that it is a possibility has to be enough.

Leave a Reply

